Perpetual Delirium.

The road was bumpy and night was bleak. I looked up and saw the petrifying storm approaching. But something was weird, there was no sound; of the roaring clouds, the rushing birds or the mad trees. It was suffocating. I looked back and saw a man running towards me. He was clamoring something, bursting his lungs out. But again I couldn’t hear him. He approached me, whispered something in my ear and vanished. Something about somewhere I was going towards. Some kind of warning I couldn’t understand. I wanted to ask him and hold onto him, for it was one spooky night. But he just fled leaving me in that mist. I started running like a wild dog. To find something. Anything – a flee, an escape. But the road never ended. I stopped for a while to catch my breath and saw two aged, calm, pacific faces indulged in some conversation. I ran towards them, shouted my heart out but didn’t get back a single notion. It was like I was invisible to them. I wanted to wake up but couldn’t. I wanted to cry like a baby but couldn’t. It was like a maze trap. So I just sat beside them and watched them to calm down my nerves. The sight really was soothing and accommodating. There came a moment when I thought this was going to be over now, so I closed my eyes and let myself elope in the feeling but right then, the couple disappeared. Just when I was sure of finding my escape, they left me all alone again.

I thought it was death. So I decided to resume my journey wondering it might end somewhere, somehow. Moving along the way I noticed a group of people of my age. But I couldn’t recognize any of the faces. And so again I was the invisible one. I sat beside them and cried my bellows out. It brought me to peace. I do not know how but it did.

They vanished just like the old couple giving me my next stop, a beautiful woman with two children. They were laughing and playing and teasing each other. I smiled. It felt like I smiled after years. I sat quietly near them on the ground. I wanted to grasp every single moment of this stop. I wanted to be a part of their play but it felt like I was a late player and they wouldn’t allow me to be a participant. I closed my eyes to soak in those chuckles, thinking I might get some sleep and it might get peaceful again. But right after I closed those eyelids the laughter stopped. I opened them with a sudden thrust. I didn’t want to loss this one. ‘No!’ I shouted. But the picture was gone now. All gone!

I had become so exhausted and wanted to catch some sleep but there wasn’t any. I started walking again, thinking I might get this kind of sight again at my next stop but it was hard to even walk now. I couldn’t feel my legs. I slowed down to little steps now. I kept telling myself it was going to be okay. I’ll find the last stop again or any of the other ones. Engrossed in those thoughts, I saw an old man with a cane walking towards me from a distance. He looked right into my eyes. It was a little scary but I just wanted someone around me. He came near me and smiled. He stretched his arms for me. I didn’t want to embrace him but I was so tired and desperate. I was frightened but I wanted peace. He was a stranger but I wanted someone to at least hear me out, recognize my existence. So I hugged him. And all of a sudden, I was finally at peace. And that’s when I finally woke up.

About amnajaved

A brat,trying to adjust.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perpetual Delirium.

  1. Another masterpiece…
    To find something. Anything – a flee, an escape.–A beautifully structured sentence.
    You have done amazingly well in creating a perfect environment for your character to fit in this story.
    -“wondering it might end somewhere, somehow.” This is a good way to end a sentence. A unique way though.
    This story is very well written, showing what it looks like when one loses his existence. Other characters in the story, they seem like a distinct memory living in the present. Just to hint out to the main character what is going on.
    Loved the story and looking forward to read more of your works.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

